April 26, 2018
Celebrating Women of Moral Courage
Benefit Breakfast & Awards 2018

Cipriani 42nd Street / 110 East 42nd Street
7:00am Registration / 7:30am Breakfast
Hosted by The Rev. Dr. Katharine R. Henderson

For 200 years, Auburn has strengthened courageous leaders to catalyze social change. Join Auburn as we honor the bold and resilient women leaders dedicating their lives to advance justice in our time.


The Reverend Jennifer Bailey

“In a time when our ruptures appear greater than the bonds that tie us together, we must work to cultivate spaces of redemptive healing rooted in love.”

The Reverend Jennifer Bailey is an ordained minister, public theologian, and emerging national leader in multifaith movement for justice. She is the Founding Executive Director of the Faith Matters Network, a new interfaith community equipping faith leaders to challenge structural inequality in their communities.

Isabel Rose

“Given the right catalyst, the untapped energy in each one of us can ignite.”

Isabel Rose is a writer, filmmaker, performer and activist. In the spring of 2017, when federal protections were rescinded for transgender students to use the bathroom of their choice, Isabel penned a heartfelt letter about her transgender child that went viral. She is currently pursuing an initiative to include diversity education in all schools, in all states, beginning in kindergarten.

Susan Silbermann

“Progress is something you work on today and someone else takes forward. But you have to believe that together we can change the world.”

Susan Silbermann is the Global President of Pfizer Vaccines. She is responsible for the development of a visionary pipeline of vaccines to address unmet medical needs for serious and life-threatening conditions such as hospital acquired infections and diseases impacting newborns in the first few weeks of life.

Andrea Taylor

“As we try to form a more perfect union in this country, diversity and inclusion are to be valued, respected and acknowledged.”

Andrea L. Taylor is President & CEO of the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute. An educator, community builder and philanthropist, Taylor began her career in Boston as a reporter and later taught at Harvard University before directing U.S. corporate giving at Microsoft. She founded the Ford Foundation Media Fund and is a New York Public Radio trustee.

Resistance Revival Chorus

“The greatest act of resistance is to inspire hearts and minds through art and culture and let the transformation begin with pure joy.”

The Resistance Revival Chorus is a collective of more than 50 women who join together to breathe joy and to uplift and center women’s voices. Launched out of the Women’s March, they honor the protest songs and believe that joy is an act of resistance.


Mother/daughter journalists lead a discussion with the honorees on what it means to be women of moral courage.

RSVP on Facebook to join the conversation LIVE at 9:30 am ET.

Tina Brown

Tina Brown is Founder & CEO of Tina Brown Live Media and an award-winning journalist, editor, author, and founder of the Women in the World summits

Isabel Evans

Isabel “Izzy” Evans is the booking producer for VICE & HBO’s Emmy-winning nightly news program, VICE News Tonight.

Auburn Lives of Commitment Committee

Rabbi Angela Buchdahl *
Carolyn Buck Luce *
Mary D. Byron *
Katie L. Dolan
Monica Issar
Carolyn Risoli
Susie Stern

Joan Taback Frankle
Joyce Crowell Palevitz
Nicki N. Tanner*
Ellen Wingard *
Melinda Weekes-Laidlow
Melinda Wolfe *

Auburn Board of Directors

The Rev. Mark Hostetter (Chair)
Rabbi Angela Buchdahl *
Carolyn Buck Luce *
Mary D. Byron (Chair-Elect) *
Jocelyn Cunningham
The Rev. Beverly Dempsey
Abigail Disney
The Rev. Janet Edwards, PhD
John A. Golieb
James Henderson, III
William Longbrake
Nate Mahrer

The Rev. Dr. Derrick W. McQueen
Iqbal G. Mamdani
The Rev. Dr. Otis Moss III
Heath Rada
Kurt William Roeloffs Jr.
Dr. Prabhjot Singh
Nicki N. Tanner*
Ellen Wingard *
Melinda Wolfe *
The Rev. Dr. Thomas H. Yorty
The Rev. Dr. Katharine R. Henderson (Ex Officio)

*Auburn Lives of Commitment Committee and Board Member

Proceeds from this event benefit the research and programs that equip leaders on the frontlines of the multifaith movement for justice.